Connect with us
Photo: ISL Media


Hyderabad FC are ISL Champions 2021-22

Hyderabad FC beat Kerala Blasters FC 3-1 on penalties to win their first-ever Hero Indian Super League (ISL) title at the PJN stadium in Margao, Goa on Sunday in dramatic fashion as the Kerala Blasters FC finished as runners-up for the third time in their history.

The final was competitive from minute one to last and it reflected in the scoreline as the two teams were locked at 1-1 at the end of 120 minutes.

Rahul KP (68’) gave Kerala Blasters FC the lead but substitute Sahil Tavora (88’) rescued Hyderabad FC two minutes from time to send the final into extra time. However, neither team could make the decisive blow in the additional thirty minutes meaning the final had to be decided from ten yards.

Marko Leskovic, Nishu Kumar and Jeakson Singh missed for Kerala Blasters FC as successful penalties from Joao Victor, Khassa Camara and Halicharan Narzary

Kerala Blasters FC buoyed by the fan support in the stadium made a fast start, pressing Hyderabad FC aggressively. It could have proved to be a tad too aggressive when Sandeep Singh lunged in to make a foul which was deemed to only be a yellow card offence by referee Crystal John but referees showed that the punishment could have been harsher.

Kerala Blasters FC created their first opening in the 14th minute when Harmanjot Khabra floated in a cross for Alvaro Vazquez who couldn’t get a lot of power in his header as he headed wide.

The Blasters continued to dominate territorially without troubling Laxmikant Kattimani in the Hyderabad FC goal too much. However, he was a mere spectator in the 39th minute when Vazquez’s shot came off the crossbar.

The FC Mangalore Media team is a small group of hardworking and extremely dedicated individuals dedicated at bringing you a unique and fresh perspective on a daily basis.

More in ISL